Scientific Committee

Michele C. Battié, PhD
Chair, Scientific Committee 








Dr. Battié was recruited from the Department of Orthopaedics at the University of Washington (Seattle) to the position of Professor and Chair of the Department of Physical Therapy at the University of Alberta, Canada in 1995 before holding a senior Canada Research Chair in Common Spinal Disorders for two consecutive 7-year terms.  Recently, she joined the University of Western Ontario, Canada, as Professor and Western Research Chair in Exercise, Mobility and Health. She has been involved in the Forum since its inaugural meeting in Seattle in 1995, as well as being an active member of the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine for 30 years, in which she leads a working group on degenerative spinal phenotypes. Her clinical and research interests focus on low back pain, spinal stenosis and other degenerative conditions of the lumbar spine, and her work has ranged from genetic studies of disc degeneration to investigations of factors influencing disability in the workplace.  She has over 165 original research publications, as well as 30 book chapters. Her research group’s work has been recognized with multiple Volvo/ISSLS Prize Awards from the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine and two Kappa Delta Awards from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons/ORS, among others.


Scientific Committee Members

Fadi Al-Zoubi
K.E.E.P. Lab School of Physical and Occupational Therapy, Montreal, Canada

Carlo Ammendolia
Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation, Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto, Toronto, Canada

Susan Armijo Olivo

Marc-André Blanchette
Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivières, Trois-Rivières, Québec, Canada

Rachelle Buchbinder
Department of Clinical Epidemiology, Monash University, Melbourne, Australia

Linda Carroll

Pierre Côté
Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, Oshawa, Canada

Marie-France Coutu
Centre de recherche - Hôpital Charles-Le Moyne (CR-HCLM), Longueuil, Canada

Clermont Dionne
Department of Rehabilitation, Faculty of Medicine Université Laval; Centre d’excellence sur le vieillissement de Québec (CEVQ) du Centre intégré universitaire de la santé et des services sociaux de la Capitale Nationale (CIUSSS CN); and Axe Santé des populations et pratiques optimales en santé du Centre de recherche du CHU de Québec - Université Laval, Québec, Canada

Marie-José Durand    
Centre de recherche – Hôpital Charles Le Moyne, Longueuil, Canada

Simon French
Department of Chiropractic, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Macquarie University

Doug Gross
Department of Physical Therapy, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada

Margareth Grotle
Department of Physiotherapy, Faculty of Health Sciences, Oslo Metropolitan University, Oslo, Norway

Amanda Hall
Primary Healthcare Research Unit (PHRU), Faculty of Medicine, Memorial University, St-John’s, Canada

Jill Hayden
Department of Community Health and Epidemiology, Dalhousie University, Nova Scotia, Canada

Cesar Hincapé
Applied Health Research Centre (AHRC) | Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute, St. Michael’s Hospital, Toronto, Canada

Sheila Hoggs-Johnson
Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College, Toronto, Canada

Nathalie Jauvin
National Institute of Public Health, INSPQ, Québec, Canada

Greg Kawchuk
Department of Physical Therapy, Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada

Steven Kamper
Faculty of Medicine and Health, Sydney School of Public Health, Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, Sydney, Australia

Bart Koes
Amsterdam, Erasmus MC, University Medical Center, Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Pierre Langevin
Department of Rehabilitation, Faculty of Medicine, Université Laval, and Physio Interactive, Québec, Canada

Nathalie Le Sage
Hopital de l’Enfant-Jesus du CHU de Quebec, Québec, Canada

Joy Macdermid
School of Physical Therapy, Western HealthSciences. Western University, Ontario, Canada

Luciana Macedo
School of Rehabilitation Science (Physiotherapy), McMaster University, Hamilton, Canada

Hugo Masse-Alarie
Department of Rehabilitation, Faculty of Medicine, Université Laval and CIRRIS, Québec, Canada

Eric Parent

Kadija Perreault
Department of Rehabilitation, Faculty of Medicine, Université Laval and CIRRIS, Québec, Canada

Glenn Pransky
Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, School of Medicine, University of Massachussets, Worcester, USA

Michel Rossignol
McGill University, Montréal, Canada

Jean-Sébastien Roy
Department of Rehabilitation, Faculty of Medicine, Université Laval and Centre interdisciplinaire de recherche en réadaptation et en intégration sociale (CIRRIS), Québec, Canada

Mick Sullivan

Manon Truchon
École de psychologie, Université Laval and CIRRIS, Québec, Canada

Important Dates

Registration starts
January 7, 2019

Workshop proposals submission deadline
January 7, 2019

Abstract submission deadline
February 7, 2019 CLOSED

Workshop proposals acceptance notice
February 15, 2019

Abstract acceptance notice
March 15, 2019  Notice sent

Early bird and presenting author registration deadline
April 7, 2019 CLOSED

July 3-6, 2019

Subscribe to the Back&Neck Forum 2019 newsletter